DSC_0291

I know bean salad isn’t really something to get too excited about, but I think this one is great. It’s perfect for hot summer days when you want protein but just can’t bring yourself to turn on the oven or stove (those of you down South with central air conditioners don’t have that problem). The recipe comes from The Modern Ayurvedic by Amrita Sondhi. While I think it’s interesting, I’m not that into ayurvedic cooking, but I find this book has easy recipes that are both tasty and healthful. This one is great for a picnic or a pot luck supper. I put it on salads with avocado; and usually don’t even need dressing. Enjoy!

Mixed Bean Salad
From The Modern Ayurvedic

1 1/2 c. chickpeas (garbanzo beans) cooked or canned [I use a full can of each kind of bean, which is a bit more, and adjust the ingredients accordingly]
1 1/2 c. black beans, cooked or canned
1 1/2 c. red kidney beans, cooked or canned
1-2 tsp. garlic, minced
1-2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. green onions, chopped
3 tbsp. fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
2 tsp. fresh green chilies, minced
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. salt
Freshly ground pepper to taste
4 tbsp. lemon juice or vinegar (your choice of vinegar) [I think it’s markedly better with lemon juice]

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, adjust seasoning if necessary, and serve.

