I love food. I could write or talk about food for hours. I realized I should start a blog when I found myself routinely telling anyoone who would listen step-by-step what I had for dinner the night before. I’m not the world’s best cook, I’m not a trained professional, but I did work in restaurants for a while, and I do own a lot of cookbooks. Luckily my family puts up with my messes, failures, and successes in the kitchen while I learn how to bake, broil, grill and saute.

For various reasons I’ve lately decided to take Michael Pollan‘s advice and “eat food, not too much, mostly plants.” Eat food. Real food. Nothing processed, only whole foods natural and fresh from the earth. OK, I admit I steal one of my husband’s diet cokes every now and then. It’s not going to kill me. That’s the thing; I’m the kind of person who likes to find a balance. I buy organic when I possible, local when possible, and locally grown organic when possible. But, heck, sometimes I just want a Hershey’s bar, ok?

