I don’t mean to rub it in, but here in New England it’s farmer’s market central this time of year. We have a much shorter growing season than most of you, but once it gets going it really gets going. Any day of the week I can find a farmer’s market within a short drive of my house. As I’ve recently learned, buying local is the best thing for you and your family. Many local farms are organic in everything except name; at the farmer’s markets I often see “low/no spray” on signs all over the non-organic farms’ tents. I don’t consider myself a “locavore,” (I even find that term mildly annoying), but if I buy a few things at a couple of farmer’s markets a week and center my meals around those I figure I’m doing alright.

OK, so I know that not all of you are as lucky as I am. You live in an area where the farmer’s market was kicked out by the town officials (blasphemous as far as I’m concerned), or maybe if you have one you suspect that the produce wasn’t actually grown by the people selling it. This is a sad, sad state of affairs.

I also understand that not everyone has access to organic produce. I can’t always buy organic either, and I was so excited when a friend sent me the link to the “Pesticides in Produce” guide: http://www.foodnews.org. I’m not getting paid by these people to say that this guide is awesome. It ranks 43 fruits and vegetables from “best” to “worst” based on the amount of pesticides in non-organic produce. I’m ashamed to say that my beloved peach is at the very top of the list as the “worst” produce to buy non-organic.

Do with this what you will, but I promise once you look at this it will change the way you maneuver through the produce section. Hopefully in a good way.

