Maque Choux is a Cajun dish. Although I grew up in Mississippi, my dad grew up in Abbeville, Louisiana; which for those of you who don’t know, is deep in Cajun country. Although we didn’t eat Cajun food all the time growing up, my dad made a point to teach me how to cook Cajun dishes like gumbo and crawfish stew the way his mother and grandmother taught him.

Since it’s too hot for gumbo right now, I thought I’d make something more summery. As the title says, maque choux (pronounced mock shoe) it’s really just corn stewed with tomatoes, with some onion and bell pepper mixed in. It’s absolutely delicious with a roast. The following recipe is verbatim from Talk About Good, the cookbook from the Junior League of Lafayette, LA. I love community cookbooks and the way the recipes are written.

Maque Choux

8 ears of cleaned corn (I used 6 – this is a very forgiving recipe)
1/2 c. onion
1/4 chopped bell pepper
1/2 c. peeled and chopped tomato (I used canned diced since that’s all I had and it worked well)
1 tsp. sugar
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 c. grease (I only used 1 tbsp. of bacon grease and 1 tbsp of veg. oil)

Clean corn thoroughly and cut lengthwise 1/4 inch from top and scrape corn with side of blade of knife to get juice. Mix all ingredients except grease, season and pour in hot grease — reduce fire to low. Cook 3/4 hour, covered. Sir occasionally. Serves 4 to 6.

Mrs. P.J. Blanchet, Jr.

