I decided to take Amanda’s advice and make blueberry cornmeal pancakes with some of the blueberries I had left over after the pie. These turned out really really good. I added some blackstrap molasses because I’m trying to make sure that my 15 month old daughter gets enough iron, and molasses is one way I’m trying to sneak it into her diet (I try to get her to eat meat but she’s just not that into it). I also think it added some nice depth to the flavor. I made these the day before guests arrived. I let them cool and put them in the freezer. The next day I heated them up in a warm oven while I made bacon and eggs to go with them.

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

1 c. white cornmeal
1-2 tbsp. honey
2 tsp. molasses
1 tsp. salt
1 c. boiling water
1/2 c. milk
2 tbsp. butter, melted
2 tsp. baking powder
1 egg
1/2 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 c. (or so) fresh blueberries

Combine cornmeal, honey, molasses, and salt in a large bowl then slowly stir in boiling water. Cover and let stand for 10 min. Add milk, butter, and baking powder and whisk well. Add egg and whisk well. Finally, add flour and blueberries and mix quickly, don’t overwork.

Heat a cast iron skillet over medium low heat. Melt some butter in the skillet; once melted add batter 2 tbsp. at a time, making sure that blueberries are evenly distributed in each pancake. Cook until bubbles form in batter, flip and cook other side. Adjust heat as needed. Stack on a plate or baking sheet and keep warm in a 200 degree oven.

