We’ve had tomatoes for a little while; at least the farmer’s market has had them, but I haven’t really let myself enjoy them because I was waiting for our plants start producing. Slowly but surely we’ve been harvesting tomatoes, which is quite exciting. There is nothing like eating fruits and vegetables you grew yourself.

Last weekend during the birthday celebration I made a salad which was so easy it almost seems ridiculous to write it as a recipe, but here it is.

Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad

Cut up a bunch of yummy tomatoes of different varieties. If you can get your hands on some heirloom tomatoes great; go for different colors and shapes. If not, this salad is just as good with regular red homegrown varieties. Chop the tomatoes and put them on a plate or in a casserole dish. Slice some fresh mozzarella and put this over the tomatoes. Cut some fresh basil into a chiffonade and sprinkle over tomatoes and cheese. Drizzle with some high quality olive oil, sea salt and freshly ground pepper. Voila!

I promise that if you go to the extra trouble to use top of the line ingredients you will be rewarded with this recipe.

Lastly,

I couldn’t resist posting about tomato sandwiches. I can’t tell you how much I love these. When I eat one I breath a sigh of relief because I know that summer is complete. To make a tomato sandwich really perfect the tomatoes have to be super ripe. Toast some bread (white is best but all I had was whole wheat – it’s better for you anyway), spread mayonnaise on both slices, add enough tomato to cover one slice (don’t add too much tomato though or you’ll overdo it). Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Eat this over the sink because it’ll be juicy and delicious!


