My dad forwarded me a link to folo, a news-following blog that posted a “Southern 100 Foods-To-Eat” list. I couldn’t resist taking part in this.

The items in bold are those that I’ve tried, and my comments are in italics. In his original post he mentions that he left off a few things and I have to agree that tomato sandwiches should have been included, as well as caramel cake, banana pudding, cheese grits, Community coffee, Steen’s syrup, and cheese straws, just to name a few off the top of my head. I could also add stuffed shrimp, fried shrimp and oyster po-boys, and Abita beer.

Fun! What would you add or subtract from this list?

1.  Appalachicola oysters
I don’t know if I’ve had Appalachicola oysters, but I’ve sure eaten a lot of Gulf oysters.
2.  souse
3.  A sazarac
4.  moonshine
5.  A Ramos gin fiz
6.  single-barrel bourbon
7.  Jack Daniels and coca cola
8.  a moon pie
9.  sweet tea
10. a pimento burger

11. whole hog barbecue
12. one of the “freak” bbq dishes (bbq sundae, bbq spagetti, etc.).
Does bbq pizza count?
13. pork shoulder in Memphis
14. dry ribs
15. wet ribs
16. a hot dog at the Varsity in Atlanta
17. a muffelata
18. what your waiter thinks you should have tonight at Gallatoire’s

Gallatoires, *sigh*, one of my favorite restaurants…
19. frogmore stew
20. fried catfish
21. she-crab soup
22. Boiled crawfish at a roadhouse in Louisiana (e.g. the Guiding Star in New Iberia)

Roadhouse? Is Richard’s in Abbeville a “roadhouse”? Anyway, I’ve eaten my fair share of boiled crawfish, I can tell you that.
23. bbq with Carolina mustard sauce
24. insanely hot chicken in Nashville
25. bbq mutton (Kentucky)
Is Kentucky the South? This is debatable.
25. burgoo (Kentucky)
26. brunswick stew
27. bbq chicken with “white sauce”  (North Alabama)
28. shrimp and grits
29. a lucky dog
30. seafood gumbo
31. chicken and sausage gumbo
32. fried okra

33. chitterlings
34. greens cooked with a ham hock
35. yellow squash casserole
36. deviled eggs
37. kumback sauce

I’ve never seen it spelled this way; I always thought it was “comeback”
38. Delta tamales
39. a steak at Does
40. red beans and rice
41. fried pie
42. Natchitoches meat pie
43. maquechoux
44. fried chicken, milk gravy, and rice
45. alligator

46. deep fried turkey
47. bread and butter pickles
48. blackberries just after they are picked
49. blackberry cobbler
50. pecan pie
51. extract pound cake

“extract”?
52. tea cookies
Does he mean tea cakes?
53. a breakfast of country ham, fried eggs, grits, biscuits, red eye gravy
54. a glazed and baked Tennessee or Kentucky country ham
55. hickory smoked sausage in a canvas poke

56. a Greek hot dog with meat sauce in Birmingham
57. pimento cheese sandwich
58. A fried fish plate from a fish shack anywhere along the Gulf or Atlantic coasts

“fish shack” I don’t know…I’ve certainly eaten my fair share of fried fish plates from dives along the coast and inland.
59. a mint julep
60. boiled peanuts

61. peanut soup
62. sweet potato pie
63. sorghum molasses
64. Chesapeake bay softshell crabs

65. Maryland crab cakes
66. Stuffed ham (Maryland or Virginia)
68. cornbread
69. cornbread stuffing
70. andouille
71. boudin
72. jambalaya
73. gumbo z’herbes
74. crawfish etouffee
75. sugar cane
76. wild duck gumbo
77. shrimp remoulade
78. bread pudding with whiskey sauce
79. barbecued shrimp

80. A New Orleans creole Italian salad
81. field peas
82. okra and tomatoes
83. skillet corn
84. a “meat and three” plate lunch in mid-to-late summer

85. a revolving tables-style boarding house meal
86. red velvet cake
87. fried buffalo fish
88. ramps
89. yellow meat watermelon
90. Food and drink at an SEC football game tailgating
91. venison
92. turtle soup

93. quail for breakfast
94. pickled egg
95. Barqs root beer
96. A home or house-made cream pie with meringue on it
97. A country church “dinner on the grounds”

98. squirrel and dumplings
99. beaten biscuits
100. hoop cheese and saltines in a country store

