It’s that time of year, I guess. Depression starts setting in and I start to realize that summer is ending. I do like Fall, don’t get me wrong. when the leaves start to change (this is already happening) and the air conditioners come out of the windows (this hasn’t happened yet) and I’ve started wearing sweaters and boots, well then I can embrace the cool weather and enjoy cooking stews, soups, gumbo, pies, etc. But, I’m in seasonal purgatory right now, wishing it were still summer, looking at the tiny cantelopes on my plant that probably won’t have a chance.

This is the time for green tomatoes. I haven’t picked them all yet, and still have some turning red, but I have to keep an eye out for that first frost forecast so that I can gather up all the green tomatoes and do something yummy with them. Preferably fry them.

I don’t know if this is an old Southern recipe, but it certainly had a revival after the book and movie Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. I never really ate them before that book came out, but that doesn’t really mean anything. I eat them now. They are deelish. I told my neighbor about them and she said that now her husband is absolutely addicted. They have a pick-your-own CSA, so she just goes into the field and picks green tomatoes. She says they make them all the time!

Fried Green Tomatoes

Take some green tomatoes (they have to be very green, if they are even a little bit red then they will have too much moisture; they will be soggy and might even cause some splattering in the pan) and slice them into about 1/2 inch slices. Pour about 2 inches of oil into a cast iron skillet; I use half bacon grease and half oil. Take two bowls; fill one with cornmeal and spices (I use Tony Chachere’s and salt & pepper), and fill the other with a couple of beaten eggs. Heat the oil over medium  high heat. When it’s good and hot dip the tomato slices in the egg bath and then in the corn meal, tapping the slice so that the extra cornmeal falls off. Slip the slices into the oil and brown. They should brown relatively quickly. Gently turn them over and let the other side brown nicely. Remove to a plate with a paper towel on top and enjoy!

Don’t let these sit around too long b/c they’ll get soggy.

Yum.

