I heard somewhere that the world is divided into cake people and pie people. OK, I admit that’s rather simplistic, but maybe there’s something to it. I do like a good cake, and I used to be a cake person, but now I consider myself a pie person. I love pies. There is a real artistry to making a good pie crust (to which I still aspire), and the variety of fillings is virtually endless. I didn’t really become a pie person until I moved to New England. The only explanation I can think of is that fruit pies are much more prevalent in New England than down South. Here in New England you can find blueberry pie, strawberry rhubarb, and apple pie at just about every farmer’s market you go to. Diners, fancy restaurants, and everything in between offer some variety of fruit pie.

Down South on the other hand, fruit goes in a cobbler. Pies are chocolate, chess, coconut, custard, sweet potato, pecan, etc…. Not that I think this is necessarily a bad thing. I love chess pie and Linda Dunnaway’s egg custard pie (sans traditional crust) is one of my all time faves, but I’m at heart a fruit person, and growing up, would always opt for the blackberry cobbler with ice cream over the custard pie. Well, taking all of these things into consideration, I’ve found the perfect pie. Fruit and custard, together in one pie crust. It’s heaven, I tell you. This is my hands-down-all-time favorite pie recipe (and you know already how much I love pie). The recipe is from Simply in Season. Those Mennonites sure know how to bake.

Note: I have a couple of go-to pie dough recipes, but I still feel like I need to experiment a little bit more before I blog about them; it just feels like a post for another time. I do recommend a homemade crust though. On the other hand, if you don’t like making dough, or don’t know how, you can make custard pies without a crust and they will form a kind-of crust of their own.

Pear Custard Pie

9-inch unbaked pastry shell
4-5 c. pears (peeled and sliced)

Place fruit in pastry shell.

2 eggs
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. flour
1/4 c. butter (softened)
1 tsp. vanilla

In a small bowl beat together with an electric mixer until light anf fluffy. Pour mixture over fruit. Bake in preheated oven at 450 degrees for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 and continue baking until set, 30 minutes.

