Happy Thanksgiving!

I didn’t want to continue my Mississippi report by skipping over Thanksgiving, and since I’m busy cooking I don’t have too much time to write. So, for those of you last minute types who are looking for a way to cook those sweet potatoes (or yams), here’s a recipe from my grandmother. I haven’t tried it yet, but plan to do some version of it tonight.

Fried Boiled Yams

4 lg. sw. potatoes or yams
8 tbsp. butter
1 c. sugar

Wash fresh sweet potatoes. Place in a pot with enough water to cover. Simmer until tender. Drain, cool, and peel. Slice lengthwise, set aside. Saute sliced potatoes in butter letting the edges brown. Sprinkle over with sugar. Serve warm as an accompanying dish. Serves 8.

In case you were wondering, it’s 12:30 and I’ve already made biscuits, bacon & eggs for breakfast, pear custard bars, and buttermilk bacon pralines from Screen Doors and Sweet Tea. I was inspired by Kim at Yankee in a Southern Kitchen, who made them a couple of weeks ago. I’ve already tasted one and they are crazy good. Martha Hall Foose describes them as “ridiculous” in her cookbook, and I have to say that’s the right word. Up here in Mass. they would say “wicked good.”

We’re only going to have 3 1/2 (3 adults and a toddler) tonight so I’m not cooking a turkey. Instead we’re having chicken & dumplings, sweet potatoes (see above), green beans, and cornbread dressing. We’ll be eating leftovers forever, I’m sure, but that’s what Thanksgiving is all about.

Whether you are cooking or eating out I hope you have a great day!

