dsc_0376

Raw chicken parts floating in cold water.

For some reason I didn’t get a picture of the yummy broth I got from this pot, but you can imagine. Although I haven’t been posting don’t think I haven’t been cooking. I do have a life outside of blogging, you know. I’ve decided to start planning out my meals for the week, and Monday’s supper was flu chaser soup, a New England Soup Factory recipe that was adapted on this blog (thanks to the birthday girl Jen for sending this to me). This is such a delicious soup, and perfect for flu season. It has three, count ’em, three heads of roasted garlic, lemon juice from three lemons, 3 tbsp. of ginger, and lots of yummy basil and mint. Wellness in a bowl! The thing about it though, is the recipe makes a lot and calls for 12 cups of chicken broth.

The only pot I have that’s big enough for that is my lobster pot, which is ridiculously big, so I usually just make it in my dutch oven, simmer uncovered for a while and then fill with water to the right consistency. It turns out wonderfully. There really is nothing like good home-made chicken broth for a soup like this; I do keep bouillon cubes in my pantry, but just for emergencies. Instead, when I want to cook chicken I buy a whole chicken and cut it up myself. I’ve gotten rather good at butchering a chicken, and one of these days I’ll post about that. Usually I don’t need the backs or necks, so I just keep them in a ziploc back in my freezer. When I’ve amassed enough I just throw them into some cold water with some celery and onion, bring to a boil with a teaspoon or two of kosher salt, and then simmer for an hour or so. Skim off the foam as it cooks, strain, and use however you wish.

There are a million different ways to make chicken broth, and this is certainly not the most refined, but it works well enough for me and is SO EASY.

I’ve been thinking about cornbread a lot lately and don’t want you to think I’ve forgotten my quest for my perfect cornbread. I’m still on the trial, but have gotten sidetracked by work (I do have a day job) and mothering a toddler (that’s my other day job). Also, we’ve decided to take a last minute trip to the Yucatan and leave on Wednesday! I’ll post before then, hopefully. Stay tuned.

